I have a dream, a song to sing ….

4 March 2012

I have a dream, a song to sing….

When I was in high school our principal loved playing this very famous song, “I have a Dream” written and sung by ABBA, nearly every second Monday morning at assembly.

Whenever he heaved his stereo onto the podium all students heaved an audible and collective sigh of yet another one to come.  The message did not sink in, try as he might, 14 year olds were just not interested in listening to the message and it was just another song we heard ad nauseam.

I didn’t mind the song, it has a good tune and I have played it over the years many times.  In fact, it is one of my favourite CDs in my collections – ABBA Gold – and I play it often.  When I listened to it today I felt inspired, dancing to the music and subsequently it had lead me to this post.

These last few weeks have been very trying.  My nearly 3 year old daughter has been pushing every boundary she could to the utmost, obviously feeding off the stress that I was under.  As a single parent sometimes the pressure will get to me as it would to anyone else.

If you noticed my absence from writing, here’s why…..

I am in the process of signing up with a franchise to start a business changing to a completely new direction in my life, doing something that I have come to love and enjoy – photography.  I am certainly not ecstatic that I’m buying a franchise but I am excited at the prospect of being able to combine photography with an income.  As we all know, franchises are not the optimum way to go but in this case, with a clear head, proper due diligence I believe I am doing the right thing.  I still have some self-doubts but I am also very determined to make it work.  To finance this I was hoping to be able to sell my eBay bookstore which I have been running for the past nearly 7 years and whilst it has elicited tremendous amount of interest no sale has been achieved as yet.  It is well priced so that is not the issue here.   I guess it is a matter of the right person coming along.  That in itself has put more pressure on me.  Why do I have to climb the mountains rather than going the most direct way to get to my destination…? mmm…

Back to… I have a dream

I have dreamt to have a successful business for so many years and have climbed so many mountains to get to this point in my life.  With this I have put myself under pressure and forgot to step back and realise that what I have IS a successful business and that I have been successful in many things I have done over the years.  For so many months my focus has been incredibly strong to move forward and I allowed myself very little ‘me’ time which in turn created stress and in turn was an unhealthy environment for myself and my daughter.

Last night I was invited to my neighbours for a pool & spa party, a very impromptu event.  On my way out I grabbed a bottle of Amarula Liqueur to bring along and trundled over to my neighbours.  We had a great time and best of all… no hang over the next day.  Instead a day feeling more relaxed and happier than I have felt in a very long time.  It is good to just chill out and not think.

My message today is to everyone and in particular to all other single parents… you are doing a great job, keep that in mind and follow your dream but remember to stop from time to time and smell the roses. 🙂

Below are the lyrics to this song if anyone needs some inspiration… wonderful words indeed!

I have a dream, a song to sing
To help me cope with anything
If you see the wonder of a fairy tale
You can take the future even if you fail
I believe in angels
Something good in everything I see
I believe in angels
When I know the time is right for me
I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream

I have a dream, a fantasy
To help me through reality
And my destination makes it worth the while
Pushing through the darkness still another mile
I believe in angels
Something good in everything I see
I believe in angels
When I know the time is right for me
I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream
I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream

I have a dream, a song to sing
To help me cope with anything
If you see the wonder of a fairy tale
You can take the future even if you fail
I believe in angels
Something good in everything I see
I believe in angels
When I know the time is right for me
I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream
I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream

Photocredit: Co-incidence has lead me to this photo and when I read the article I could not agree more with what the little girl wrote and actually resembles mine very closely… “to have a true boyfriend”. 
Please note: I am not promoting this blog in any way it just happened to turn up unexpectedly.  (http://live.regnumchristi.org/2012/02/the-spark-of-a-dream/)

3 thoughts on “I have a dream, a song to sing ….

  1. blessmylove says:

    I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream…Powerful encouraging line..I got a lot of energy from this line.. thank you so much

  2. thank you, you’re welcome 🙂

  3. Malou says:

    I love this song!

Leave a Reply

